Recipes

Barley Bean Soup – Fabulous Hearty Soup!

I’m so happy to post my third post πŸ™‚ Today I’m sharing Soup recipe!

I’m not a soup person!

I feel bored when I’m having soup!! 😦 But few days back I made detox veg soup.

It was unbelievably tasted like heaven and I felt super refresh and tasty, then I decided to make many varieties of soups.

This Barley Bean Soup is another soup I made in my Indian taste. In this recipe I have used mixed beans with barley and some veggies. Use can simply omit the veggies and make with only beans and barley.

unnamed.jpg

Note:

I soaked mixed beans overnight to easily cook the beans. If you don’t have time to soak then you can use ‘Quick soak’ method by combining the beans and water in a pot and bring to boil. Bring the heat to lower so that the beans will cook for 2 minutes. Remove from the pot and let it soak for an hour. Or simply use pressure cooker to cook soaked beans, If not, Use canned beans πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

Barley – 1 – 2 tablespoon soaked overnight

Mixed beans – 1/4 or 1/2 cup cooked ( Use any varieties of beans)

Onion/Shallots – 1/4 cup chopped

Tomato – 4-5 cherry tomatoes/ 1 Small / Tomato puree 2 -3 tablespoon

Vegetables – Of your choice, I have used Carrot, Cabbage

Ginger garlic paste or very finely chopped ginger garlic – 1 teaspoon

Butter / Oil spray

Cumin seeds – 1 teaspoon

Bay leaf – 1 or 2

Seasoning – Chilli powder/ Paprika, Cumin powder, Soup spice, Thyme, Basil

Salt and pepper – As per taste

Method:

Prepare all the ingredients to start making soup. Chop veggies, wash the barley and soak it for few hours or simply keep aside. Cook the beans.

Heat sauce pan with butter or oil spray. Add cumin seeds and bay leaf.

Then add chopped onion saute for 1 – 2 minutes and add ginger garlic paste or finely chopped ginger garlic.

Saute until raw smell of ginger garlic goes. Add soaked barley and mix for a minute. Then add chopped vegetables (If using) mix everything well.

After few sec add spice powders along with some water and take out the bay leaf and discard.

Let the veggies cook in that water for few sec then add cooked beans along with basil and thyme.

Give everything a quick mix and add vegetable broth/stock or chicken or simply water. Cover and cook until everything cooked well.

Let it boil in medium flame for 10-15 minutes.

Bar5And tasty, healthy, heavenly Barley Bean Soup is ready to be served.!!! πŸ™‚

Bar2.jpg

Hope you guys are loved my soup and give a try. Let me know how it’s turned out!

Please like and comment πŸ™‚

Thanks πŸ™‚

Happy Cooking! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Barley Bean Soup – Fabulous Hearty Soup!”

Leave a Reply

